The Story of Linworth UMC
Linworth UMC began in 1887 as a chapel, originally known as Bright’s Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church, located at 2424 W. Granville Rd.
In 1957 additional space was needed. Fourteen families took out second mortgages on their homes to provide the equity needed to purchase property and build the new church at 6200 Linworth Road. By 1996 the average worship attendance had increased to 550 and again more space was needed.
Ten acres was purchased at the corner of Bent Tree and Federated Boulevards and on December 7, 1997 the church moved to its current location. The second phase of the move will be to erect a Family Life and Outreach Center.
The church now has a membership of between 700-770. In 2000 a Contemporary Worship Service was begun. Excellent educational day care opportunities are offered through the Linworth Children’s Center where over 200 children are enrolled. Opportunities to explore and share our faith journeys are given through mission work, community service, Vacation Bible School, and a myriad of small groups. These groups build community and share life together.
The legacy created by our forebears in 1887 remains a beacon of hope and inspiration to us here in the 21st century.